Last reviewed October 15, 2026
Review · BossHorn

BossHorn Boss Series Train Horn for Milwaukee M18 Battery Review

Aggregated review of BossHorn's 2026 Boss Series portable train horn for Milwaukee M18 batteries: 150 dB claim, 3 volume levels, 300 ft remote, runtime, price.

By Train Horn Hub Editorial October 15, 2026 Updated October 15, 2026
A bunch of tools that are on a table
Photo by Anton Savinov on Unsplash
Pros
  • +Most complete spec sheet in BossHorn's lineup: weight, dimensions, trumpet sizes, runtime
  • +Three published volume levels: 110 / 130 / 150 dB
  • +185°F thermal shut-off and 15% deep-discharge battery cutoff
  • +300 ft remote included (2,000 ft optional), longest standard range in the M18 lineup
  • +1-year warranty plus 90-day money-back guarantee
  • +No install; runs on any M18 pack from 2.0 to 12.0Ah
Cons
  • −150 dB claim has no test distance; no PSI or Hz data
  • −BossHorn's own FAQ says the $30-cheaper Extreme Series has the same specs
  • −Product page contradicts itself on audible range and ship cutoff
  • −Most expensive model in the M18 lineup; battery and charger extra
  • −Only 7 on-page reviews so far, one reporting a dented trumpet

Methodology

This review aggregates publicly available information from manufacturer specifications, retailer listings, and verified user reviews. We do not perform hands-on testing. Last reviewed: 10/15/2026. Our main source is BossHorn’s own product page for the Boss Series, including its technical-specification table, FAQ, warranty and returns block, and the customer reviews posted on that page. We used the BossHorn Extreme Series and standard Quad product pages and BossHorn’s M18™-battery collection to compare the lineup. We found no independent retailer listing for this exact model, so every number below is a manufacturer claim unless we say otherwise.

Quick verdict

The Boss Series is BossHorn’s 2026 flagship portable train horn for Milwaukee® M18™ batteries. It has the most complete spec sheet in the lineup: a 150 dB maximum rating, three volume levels (110 / 130 / 150 dB), 185°F thermal shut-off, a 15% deep-discharge cutoff, a 300 ft remote and a stated 4.0 lb weight. We rate it 4.0/5. The feature set and the 1-year warranty with a 90-day money-back guarantee are strong. The 150 dB number has no test distance, there’s no PSI or Hz data, and BossHorn’s own FAQ says the cheaper Extreme Series has “same specs as Boss.” That makes the $30 premium hard to justify unless you want the 300 ft remote.

What it is

The Boss Series is a self-contained, battery-powered air horn. It has an impact-driver-style polymer housing, a built-in compressor and four low-pitch trumpets. It is sold as a Train Horn for Milwaukee® 18v Battery: you snap a standard M18™ pack into the base, and you can fire it with the trigger on the unit or the included wireless remote. There’s no tank, no wiring and no install. BossHorn says the unit arrives “fully assembled — a complete tool, not a kit.”

BossHorn lists it as the “Ultimate” choice in its three-tier trumpet selector. The tiers are Dual (2 trumpets, high pitch, 130 dB), Quad (4 trumpets, medium pitch, 140 dB) and Boss Series (4 premium trumpets, low pitch, 150 dB). It’s aimed at tailgaters, boaters, off-roaders and event crowds who already own M18™ packs and want the deepest tone BossHorn sells in a handheld unit. If you want a horn permanently mounted on a truck, see our air vs. battery train horn guide first.

Within the M18™-compatible lineup, the Boss Series is the most expensive model. BossHorn’s collection page currently lists the Dual at $195 to $215, the 2026 Dual at $220 to $240, the Quad at $250 to $270, the 5-Trumpet at $270 to $290, the Extreme Series at $335 to $355 and the Boss Series at $365 to $385. The Extreme Series page calls the Extreme “our loudest,” and both carry the same 150 dB rating. In our editorial view, the Boss Series earns its place with documentation more than volume: it’s the only page in the family whose technical table lists trumpet lengths. Shoppers comparing BossHorn models should start with the remote range and the price gap, not the dB figure.

BossHorn Boss Series quad-trumpet portable train horn with remote and M18-compatible battery, side view
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

Specifications

SpecValue
Maximum sound output150 dB (manufacturer claim; test distance not disclosed)
Volume levels3: Low 110 dB / Medium 130 dB / Full 150 dB
Sound type”Freight train horn,” deep low tone (per BossHorn)
Trumpets4× aluminum alloy, powder coated: 2× 14 in + 2× 12 in
Chord frequencies (Hz)Not disclosed
Operating pressure (PSI)Not disclosed
Claimed audible range”Up to 1 mile” (spec table); “1.5 miles” (page banner)
Power sourceMilwaukee® M18™ 18V battery, 2.0–12.0Ah, aftermarket M18™-compatible packs supported
Claimed runtime (6Ah pack)500+ short blasts or ~200 sustained 2-second blasts
Battery protectionAuto-cutoff at 15% charge; LED low-battery indicator on body
Thermal protectionAuto shut-off at 185°F
Remote1 included, 300 ft range, 433 MHz encrypted, 23A 12V cell included
Optional long-range remote2,000 ft
HousingImpact-resistant polymer, impact-driver-style
Water resistanceSplash-resistant, not waterproof
Weight4.0 lb (without battery)
Dimensions14 × 10 × 12 in
Price$365 (Black); $385 (Chrome or Red); list price $430 / $450
Warranty1 year on the horn unit (battery and charger excluded) + 90-day money-back guarantee
Assembly”Assembled in the USA” from “domestic and imported parts” (per BossHorn)
Boss Series front view showing four red-capped trumpet drivers and BossHorn badge
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

What’s in the box

  • 1× Boss Series Train Horn for Milwaukee® 18v Battery, fully assembled
  • 1× wireless remote (300 ft range), with its 23A 12V battery

Not included: the M18™ battery and charger. BossHorn’s add-on menu offers an M18™-compatible 6Ah battery for +$30, a fast charger for +$30, extra 300 ft remotes for +$35 each and the 2,000 ft long-range remote for +$59. The M18™ collection page lists the remotes as separate products at $30 and $55, so check the price in your cart.

Pros

  • The most complete spec sheet in BossHorn’s lineup. Weight, dimensions, trumpet lengths, remote frequency, battery range, runtime and protection thresholds are all published.
  • Three published volume steps (110 / 130 / 150 dB). BossHorn says the Low setting is OK indoors.
  • Built-in protections: a 185°F overheat shut-off and a 15% battery cutoff that protects the M18™ pack from deep discharge.
  • The longest standard remote range in the M18™ lineup: 300 ft, versus 160 ft on the Extreme Series, with a 2,000 ft option.
  • Buyer-friendly terms: 1-year warranty, 90-day no-questions refund, free U.S. shipping and same-day dispatch, per BossHorn.
  • No install: it runs on any M18™ pack from 2.0 to 12.0Ah, including aftermarket M18™-compatible batteries.

Cons

  • The 150 dB rating has no test distance and no PSI. No chord frequencies are published either, so it can’t be compared directly with distance-rated air horns.
  • Hard to tell apart from the Extreme Series. BossHorn’s FAQ says the Extreme has “same specs as Boss, no patent tech,” yet the Boss costs $30 more.
  • The product page contradicts itself: audible range is given as 1 mile and as 1.5 miles, and the same-day cutoff as 12:00 PM and 2 PM PST.
  • The most expensive horn in the M18™ lineup, and the battery and charger are extra.
  • Few reviews so far: 7 on the product page (4.71/5 average). One reviewer reported a trumpet that arrived badly dented.
  • Splash-resistant only. It’s not built for permanent outdoor or marine exposure.

Alternatives

For a cross-brand comparison of battery platforms, see Milwaukee vs. DeWalt vs. Ryobi battery train horns.

Boss Series held by its trigger grip, with wireless remote and M18-compatible battery pack
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

Install / compatibility notes

There’s nothing to install. BossHorn’s setup takes three steps: unbox, snap in a battery, then use the trigger or the remote. Practical notes from the published specs:

  • Battery choice: any M18™ pack from 2.0Ah to 12.0Ah works. BossHorn’s runtime figure (500+ short / ~200 sustained 2-second blasts) is for a 6Ah pack, and it says higher-Ah packs give more blasts per charge. The brand adds that output “may vary depending on battery charge level.”
  • Duty cycle: the 185°F shut-off means long, repeated blasts will eventually trigger a cooldown. BossHorn’s care guide recommends “short breaks during extended continuous use.”
  • Storage: remove the battery when you store it, to prevent accidental firing, and keep the unit dry. It’s splash-resistant, not waterproof.
  • Hearing safety: BossHorn’s warning calls for NRR 30+ hearing protection for the operator and for anyone within 100 ft. Our decibels explained guide covers why 150 dB at close range is dangerous.
  • Legality: BossHorn says the horn is legal to own and use on private property. Road use depends on the state, so check our train horn legality guide before using it from a vehicle.

On the 150 dB claim: the number has no measurement distance or pressure attached, and BossHorn’s FAQ calls it “150 dB at full blast” without a test setup. Read it as a ceiling, not a lab result. Our explainer on advertised vs. real train horn dB shows how much distance changes a reading.

Boss Series portable train horn, side view on white background showing 14-inch and 12-inch trumpets
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

Sources


Train Horn Hub aggregates publicly available data. We do not test products in-house. All trademarks belong to their respective owners.

Verdict

A good pick for M18 battery owners who want BossHorn's deepest no-install horn with a full spec sheet, a 300 ft remote and built-in battery and heat protection. If the remote range doesn't matter to you, the near-identical Extreme Series costs $30 less.

Frequently asked questions

Quick answers to the questions people ask most about this topic.

How loud is the BossHorn Boss Series?
BossHorn rates it at up to 150 dB on the Full setting, with Medium at 130 dB and Low at 110 dB. No test distance or air pressure is published, so treat 150 dB as a manufacturer claim. It isn't a measurement you can compare directly with distance-rated horns.
Does the Boss Series come with a battery?
No. The $365 base package includes the horn and one 300 ft remote. It runs on any Milwaukee® M18™ battery from 2.0Ah to 12.0Ah, including aftermarket M18™-compatible packs. BossHorn sells a 6Ah battery and a charger as $30 add-ons.
How many blasts do you get per charge?
BossHorn claims 500+ short blasts or about 200 sustained 2-second blasts on a 6Ah pack. The unit cuts off at 15% battery charge to protect the pack, and an LED shows when the battery is low.
What's the difference between the Boss Series and the Extreme Series?
BossHorn's FAQ says the Extreme Series has the same specs as the Boss Series but lacks the patent-pending tech. Per the two product pages, the differences are the remote (300 ft standard on the Boss, 160 ft on the Extreme) and price ($365 vs. $335 for Black).
Is the Boss Series waterproof?
No. BossHorn calls it splash-resistant, not waterproof. It advises against submerging the unit and recommends storing it indoors with the battery removed.