Last reviewed September 4, 2026
Review · BossHorn

BossHorn Dual Train Horn for Ryobi 18V Battery Review (2026)

BossHorn's dual-trumpet portable train horn for Ryobi® 18V batteries: 130 dB claim, 3 volume levels, wireless remote, $160 price — specs, pros, cons & verdict.

By Train Horn Hub Editorial August 27, 2026 Updated August 27, 2026
Nathan M5 locomotive air horn, a five-chime train horn on display
Pros
  • +Zero installation — fully assembled and handheld, fires the moment a battery clicks in
  • +Three selectable volume levels, still rare among portable battery horns
  • +Big claimed runtime: 500+ short blasts per 6Ah charge
  • +1-year full warranty plus 90-day money-back window
  • +$160 price undercuts BossHorn's quad models and most air-tank kits
  • +15% battery auto-shutoff and 185°F overheat protection built in
Cons
  • Contradictory dB claims on the official page (130 dB max vs 150 dB Full), no test distance disclosed
  • Remote range listed as both 160 ft and 300 ft on the same page
  • Battery and charger sold separately
  • Splash-resistant only — not waterproof
  • Direct-to-consumer only, so no independent measurements or retailer cross-checks
  • Gives up claimed output to the quad-trumpet models

Methodology

This review aggregates publicly available information from manufacturer specifications, retailer listings, and verified user reviews. We do not perform hands-on testing. Last reviewed: August 27, 2026. Primary source: BossHorn’s official product page for the Dual Train Horn for Ryobi® 18V Battery (New 2026 Model), cross-checked against BossHorn’s Boss Series listing and the brand’s Ryobi®-compatible collection page. This product is sold direct-to-consumer only, so no independent retailer listings or third-party lab measurements exist — every number below is a manufacturer claim, and we flag the places where the brand’s own page contradicts itself.

Quick verdict

The Dual Train Horn for Ryobi® 18V Battery (New 2026 Model) is BossHorn’s portable option for people already carrying Ryobi® 18V ONE+™ packs: $160 as reviewed (Black, marked down from $245), two powder-coated aluminum trumpets, three volume levels, and a wireless remote — with zero installation. We rate it 3.9/5. The concept is genuinely useful for tailgates, boats, and job sites, the warranty and return terms are strong, and the price undercuts most air-tank kits by hundreds of dollars. What holds the score back is spec-sheet discipline: the page’s headline says 130 dB max while its own volume table tops out at 150 dB, no test distance is disclosed anywhere, and the remote range is quoted as both 160 ft and 300 ft on the same page. Editorial opinion: a fun, practical noisemaker at a fair price — just don’t take any single decibel number as gospel.

What it is

This is a fully assembled, handheld, battery-powered dual-trumpet train-style horn. There is nothing to mount, wire, or plumb: click on a Ryobi® 18V ONE+™ battery (2.0Ah–12.0Ah, sold separately), pull the built-in trigger or press the included wireless remote, and it fires a deep, low-tone blast that BossHorn says is audible up to a mile away in open space.

The format targets a completely different buyer than a truck-mounted air system. Nothing about it is vehicle-specific — it’s for sports events, boat signaling, parades, construction-site alerts, camping and emergency kits, and anyone who wants train-horn volume without committing to a compressor, tank, and a weekend of installation. Within BossHorn’s Ryobi®-compatible lineup it sits below the standard quad-trumpet model and the premium $385 Boss Series quad, trading some claimed output for a lower price and a lighter, more compact two-trumpet build. Compared with its platform siblings, the dual’s pitch mix (one 14” and one 12” trumpet) aims for a two-note chord rather than the fuller stack of the quads — subjectively a cleaner, simpler tone, per the brand’s own “deep low tone” description, though no frequency (Hz) figures are published for any model in the lineup.

BossHorn Dual Train Horn for Ryobi 18V battery — assembled unit with two powder-coated aluminum trumpets
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

Specifications

SpecValue
Sound output (headline)130 dB max (manufacturer claim, test distance not disclosed)
Volume levels3 — page table lists Low 110 dB / Medium 130 dB / Full 150 dB
Sound character”Freight train horn deep low tone” (manufacturer description)
Claimed audible rangeUp to 1 mile
Trumpets2 × aluminum alloy, powder-coated — 1×14” + 1×12”
Power sourceRyobi® 18V ONE+™ battery, 2.0–12.0Ah (battery & charger sold separately)
Claimed runtime500+ short blasts or ~200 sustained blasts per 6Ah charge
Remote433 MHz encrypted; spec block says 160 ft included, body copy says up to 300 ft; optional 2,000 ft long-range remote (+$59)
Dimensions14” × 6” × 9”
Weight3.4 lbs (without battery)
Water resistanceSplash-resistant (explicitly not waterproof)
Safety featuresAuto-shutoff at 15% battery; overheat protection with 185°F auto shut-off
Warranty1-year full warranty; 90-day money-back return policy
Price$160 Black (reg. $245)

One honesty note that matters: BossHorn’s page states “Up to 130 dB” max output while the same page’s three-level volume table lists Full as 150 dB (with a footnote that actual output varies with battery charge). Those can’t both be right. Per our editorial policy we treat the conservative 130 dB figure as the operative claim, and since no test distance is disclosed for either number, the honest reading is “130 dB (test distance not disclosed).” For context on why undistanced decibel claims are slippery, see our guide to advertised vs real-world decibels.

The “audible up to 1 mile” claim deserves the same caution as the decibel figures. Real-world audible distance depends heavily on terrain, wind, and ambient noise — a horn that carries a mile across open water at a regatta may be barely noticeable two blocks away in city traffic. Our guide to how far a train horn can be heard covers why manufacturer range claims and street reality rarely match.

Three-level volume control graphic for the BossHorn dual-trumpet Ryobi-compatible horn
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

What’s in the box

  • Dual-trumpet horn unit, fully assembled
  • 2 aluminum alloy, powder-coated trumpets (1×14” + 1×12”)
  • 1 wireless remote (160 ft range, 433 MHz encrypted)

The battery and charger are not included — BossHorn assumes you already own Ryobi® 18V ONE+™ packs. If you don’t, budget extra for a battery-and-charger starter set, which meaningfully changes the value math against self-contained air-tank kits.

BossHorn dual-trumpet horn for Ryobi 18V battery — side profile showing trumpet lengths
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

Pros

  • Zero installation — fully assembled, handheld, works the moment a battery clicks in
  • Three selectable volume levels, still rare among portable battery horns
  • Big claimed runtime: 500+ short blasts per 6Ah charge per BossHorn’s page
  • 1-year full warranty plus a 90-day money-back window — strong terms for this category
  • $160 street price undercuts BossHorn’s own quad models and most compressor-based kits
  • Sensible safety design: 15% battery auto-shutoff and 185°F overheat protection

Cons

  • Contradictory dB claims on the official page (130 dB max headline vs. 150 dB “Full” in the volume table), with no test distance disclosed
  • Remote range is listed as both 160 ft (spec block) and 300 ft (marketing copy) on the same page
  • Battery and charger sold separately, adding real cost for buyers outside the Ryobi® 18V ONE+™ ecosystem
  • Splash-resistant only — not rated for rain-soaked decks or open boats in weather
  • Direct-to-consumer only: no independent retailer listings, lab measurements, or large third-party review pools to cross-check claims
  • On paper it gives up output to BossHorn’s own quad-trumpet models at Full volume

Alternatives

  • BossHorn Quad Train Horn for Ryobi® 18V batteries — the four-trumpet sibling with a higher claimed output for buyers who want maximum volume from the same battery platform; see our full review.
  • BossHorn Boss Series (Ryobi®-compatible) — the $385 flagship: 150 dB claimed at full blast, four trumpets (2×14” + 2×12”), and a 300 ft standard remote, per BossHorn’s Boss Series page. Costs 2.4× as much as the dual.
  • BossHorn DeWalt® 20V Dual (2026) — essentially the same dual-trumpet concept for DeWalt® 20V MAX battery owners; see our review, and the Milwaukee® M18™ dual version for that ecosystem.

If you actually want a horn on a truck rather than in your hand, a compressor-and-tank kit like the HornBlasters Outlaw 127H is the better path — our air vs battery comparison walks through the trade-offs.

Install / compatibility notes

There is no installation. The practical checklist is short:

  • Battery: any Ryobi® 18V ONE+™ pack from 2.0Ah to 12.0Ah works, and BossHorn states select aftermarket 18V-compatible packs are supported. Bigger packs mean longer runtime and steadier output — the page notes actual loudness varies with charge level.
  • Auto-shutoff: the unit cuts off at 15% battery to protect the pack, so a nearly-dead battery won’t fire.
  • Weather: splash-resistant, not waterproof — fine for a dock or sideline, not for storage in an open bed.
  • Remote: the included 433 MHz remote is listed at 160 ft in the spec block; a 2,000 ft long-range remote is a $59 option if you’re triggering from the stands or across a work site.

Because this is a handheld device rather than a vehicle horn, vehicle-code legality mostly doesn’t apply — but noise ordinances still do. Check our city noise ordinance guide before using it in a residential area, and see decibels explained for what 110–150 dB claims actually mean for your ears.

BossHorn dual-trumpet horn with wireless remote — battery platform compatibility view
Photo: manufacturer’s product page (used under fair use for editorial review).

Sources

Train Horn Hub aggregates publicly available data. We do not test products in-house. All trademarks belong to their respective owners.

Verdict

A practical, fairly priced pick for Ryobi® 18V ONE+™ battery owners who want portable train-horn volume with zero installation — as long as they read the loudness claims with the skepticism the brand's own inconsistent spec sheet invites.

Frequently asked questions

Quick answers to the questions people ask most about this topic.

How loud is the BossHorn dual-trumpet model for Ryobi 18V batteries really?
BossHorn's headline claim is 130 dB max, while the same page's volume table lists Low 110 / Medium 130 / Full 150 dB — an inconsistency the brand doesn't explain. No test distance is disclosed for any figure, so treat it as a manufacturer claim of roughly 130 dB, with output also varying by battery charge level.
Does it come with a battery and charger?
No. The horn ships fully assembled with two trumpets and one wireless remote, but the Ryobi® 18V ONE+™ battery (2.0–12.0Ah) and charger are sold separately. Aftermarket 18V ONE+™-compatible packs are supported per BossHorn.
What is the remote range?
BossHorn's spec block lists the included 433 MHz encrypted remote at 160 ft, though marketing copy on the same page says up to 300 ft. An optional long-range remote rated to 2,000 ft is available for $59 extra.
How long does it run on one charge?
BossHorn claims 500+ short blasts or roughly 200 sustained blasts per charge on a 6Ah battery. The unit auto-shuts off when the pack drops to 15% to protect the battery.
How is this different from the Boss Series version?
The Boss Series is BossHorn's $385 flagship for the same battery platform: 150 dB claimed, four trumpets (2×14" + 2×12"), and a 300 ft standard remote. This dual model costs $160, uses two trumpets (1×14" + 1×12"), and carries a 130 dB max headline claim.