- +Eight tuned bells: a more layered chord than the five-bell Katrina it evolved from, with an official sound-test video
- +Full air-system disclosure: 150/110 PSI, 25 A, 1.75 CFM, duty cycle, dimensions, weights and fill times all published
- +HB-1NM compressor rated 100% duty cycle at 100 PSI on a 5-gallon 8-port tank
- +Complete kit down to relay, gauge, fuses, filter spares and air-line cutters
- +2-year manufacturer's defect warranty on the kit
- +Both verified-buyer reviews rate it 5/5; one praises the volume, tone and ease of install
- −No decibel rating or test distance published for the Octohorn
- −HornBlasters warns the current batch has cosmetic finish blemishes
- −$1,299.99 is $200 more than the Katrina 544K and $300 more than the Admiral 544 on the same air system
- −30 lb, 17 x 17.5 x 16.75 in horn needs a large, structural mounting spot
- −Bell material and chord frequencies not disclosed; metric weight typo on the horn page
- −6 min 45 s fill from empty; only two customer reviews so far
Methodology
This review aggregates publicly available information from manufacturer specifications, retailer listings, and verified user reviews. We do not perform hands-on testing. Last reviewed: September 8, 2026. Our primary source is HornBlasters’ official Octohorn 544K kit page, cross-checked against the brand’s standalone Octohorn and HB-1NM compressor pages, the Katrina horn page it descends from, the brand’s own decibel-testing article, the two verified-buyer reviews on the kit listing, HornBlasters’ YouTube sound test, and dealer listings at Speedzone Performance, Platinum High Performance Solutions and KT Performance. Every external source appears in the Sources section at the end.
Quick verdict
The Octohorn 544K is HornBlasters’ eight-bell flagship for people who want a bigger, more layered chord than the five-bell Katrina it evolved from, and we rate it 4.0/5. You get a 30-pound, eight-trumpet horn on the same HornAir 5-gallon, 150 PSI air system that powers the Conductor’s Special 544 and Admiral 544, with every air-side number disclosed and a 2-year warranty on the kit. What holds it back is the price and the paperwork: at $1,299.99 it is $200 more than the five-bell Katrina 544K, HornBlasters publishes no decibel rating for it, the bell material is never named, and the brand itself warns that the current batch has cosmetic finish blemishes. Editorial opinion: this is a horn you buy for its tone and presence, not for a spec-sheet loudness win.
What it is
The Octohorn 544K (part number HK-C8B-544K) is a complete bolt-on train horn kit built around the HornBlasters Octohorn, an eight-bell horn the brand describes as an evolution of its five-bell Katrina. Eight trumpets of graduated length are stacked on a single black bracket with a pre-installed 12/24-volt electric air valve, and the “544K” suffix means it ships with the HornAir 5-gallon, 8-port air system and the HB-1NM Stealth Black compressor. It is the same air package HornBlasters uses across its 544K-tier kits, so what you are really paying extra for here is the horn.
The kit is aimed at full-size truck, SUV and show-vehicle owners with real mounting space, since the horn alone measures 17 by 17.5 by 16.75 inches and weighs 30 pounds before you add a 20-pound tank and a 10-pound compressor. HornBlasters’ own product photography shows it mounted in a pickup bed and slung beneath lifted trucks, which is a fair picture of the target buyer. The brand sells the horn on its own as part number AH-C8B for $649.99, so owners with an existing onboard-air system can skip the kit. For the wider lineup see our HornBlasters hub.

Specifications
All figures below come from HornBlasters’ Octohorn 544K kit page unless noted; compressor fill times come from the brand’s HB-1NM compressor page.
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Part number | HK-C8B-544K (horn alone: AH-C8B) |
| Horn | HornBlasters Octohorn, 8 bells, stealth black finish |
| Sound output | Decibel rating not published by manufacturer |
| Chord frequencies | Not disclosed |
| Operating pressure | 150 PSI (110 PSI restart) |
| Horn air port | 1/2” NPT |
| Horn dimensions | 17” L x 17.5” W x 16.75” H |
| Horn weight | 30 lb |
| Bell material | Not specified by manufacturer |
| Air valve | Pre-installed 12-24 V electric valve |
| Air tank | HornAir 5-gallon, 8-port |
| Tank dimensions | 20.5” L x 9.5” dia. x 11.5” H with legs |
| Tank weight | 20 lb |
| Compressor | HB-1NM Stealth Black, 1.75 CFM at 0 PSI, 25 A max, 100% duty at 100 PSI |
| Compressor dimensions | 10.75” x 4” x 6.75”, 10.1 lb |
| Fill time (5-gal tank) | 0 to 150 PSI in 6 min 45 s; 110 to 150 PSI in 2 min (at 13.8 V) |
| Pressure switch | 110/150 PSI with 40 A relay |
| Voltage | 12 V DC (kit); horn valve 12/24 V |
| Warranty | 2-year manufacturer’s defect warranty (kit); horn alone is listed at 1 year |
| Price | $1,299.99 (regular $1,369.99) |
- Bells
- 8, black finish
- Air system
- 5-gallon tank, HB-1NM compressor, 150 PSI
- Horn size
- 17 x 17.5 x 16.75 in, 30 lb
- Price
- $1,299.99
A note on loudness: HornBlasters does not print a decibel figure on either Octohorn page. The brand’s decibel-testing article states that every HornBlasters horn other than its electric models measures 130 dB or more under its verified testing, and that the Nathan AirChime K5LA tops its chart at 149.4 dB at 3 feet, but no Octohorn-specific number is published there either. We will not invent one, and you should treat any “150 dB” figure attached to this horn by a third party as unverified. Our advertised vs. real dB guide explains why distance matters.

What’s in the box
HornBlasters lists the following contents for the HK-C8B-544K kit:
- HornBlasters Octohorn train horn with pre-installed 12-24 V air valve
- HornAir 5-gallon, 8-port air tank
- HornBlasters HB-1NM Stealth Black air compressor
- 110/150 PSI pressure switch with 40 A relay
- Remote-mountable intake filter assembly plus spare filter elements
- 6 ft of 3/8” air line for the compressor intake
- 22 ft each of red 8-gauge, blue 18-gauge and grey 18-gauge wire
- 200 PSI stainless steel liquid-filled air gauge
- Brass NPT fitting kit with safety blow-off and drain cock
- Complete wiring kit with fuse holder and fuses
- Mounting hardware, air line cutters, detailed instructions and earplugs
One gap worth flagging: the parts list names the 3/8” intake line for the compressor, but does not state the length of the 1/2” horn feed line shown coiled in the product photos. Budget for extra air line if the tank and horn will sit at opposite ends of the vehicle.

Pros
- Eight tuned bells give it a more layered chord than the five-bell Katrina it evolved from, and HornBlasters’ own sound-test video lets you hear it before buying.
- The air side is fully disclosed: operating and restart pressure, amperage, CFM, duty cycle, tank and compressor dimensions, weights and fill times are all published.
- The HB-1NM compressor is rated for 100% duty cycle at 100 PSI, so a 5-gallon tank can be refilled repeatedly without forced rest periods.
- Genuinely complete kit: tank, compressor, switch, relay, gauge, fittings, wire, fuses, filter spares and even air-line cutters are included.
- 2-year manufacturer’s defect warranty on the kit.
- Both verified-buyer reviews on the listing rate it 5 of 5, with one praising the volume and tone and calling the install easy.
Cons
- No decibel rating or test distance is published for the Octohorn, so you cannot compare it on paper with the brand’s 147.7 dB Shocker XL kits.
- HornBlasters states that the current batch has finish blemishes that fall short of its quality standard; you are buying a cosmetically imperfect horn at full price.
- At $1,299.99 it costs $200 more than the five-bell Katrina 544K and $300 more than the Admiral 544 on the same air system.
- The 30-pound, 17-inch-cube horn needs serious mounting space and a solid bracket; it will not tuck behind a bumper the way a Shocker XL can.
- Bell material and chord frequencies are not disclosed, and the standalone horn page carries a metric weight typo (30 lb listed as 9.07 kg).
- A 6-minute-45-second fill from empty on a 5-gallon tank means a noticeable wait after a full drain; only two customer reviews exist so far.
Alternatives
- HornBlasters Katrina 544K ($1,099.99): the five-bell horn the Octohorn evolved from, on the identical 5-gallon HB-1NM air system. Lighter at 20 lb and $200 cheaper; see our Katrina 544K review.
- HornBlasters Conductor’s Special 544 ($1,049.98): four Shocker XL trumpets with a published 147.7 dB rating and a lifetime horn warranty on the same air package. The pick if loudness on paper matters more than an eight-bell chord; see our Conductor’s Special 544 review.
- HornBlasters Admiral 544 ($999.99): a five-chime brass horn on the same 5-gallon system, available in chrome or black. See our Admiral 544K review.
If you are choosing between HornBlasters’ own tiers, our Outlaw vs. Shocker vs. Conductor’s Special guide covers the rest of the lineup.

Install / compatibility notes
The Octohorn 544K is a 12-volt system that draws up to 25 amps at the compressor, so it wants a dedicated fused feed from the battery using the included 8-gauge wire and the 40-amp relay. The pressure switch cycles the compressor between 110 and 150 PSI automatically; the horn valve is triggered separately by the included switch. The horn’s 1/2” NPT port and pre-installed valve mean you feed it with 1/2” line from one of the tank’s eight ports and wire the valve to a momentary switch or the factory horn circuit through a relay.
- Mount the horn first. At 30 lb and roughly 17 inches in every dimension, it needs a flat, structural surface: bed floor, frame rail crossmember or a fabricated under-body cradle. Check ground clearance if it hangs below the frame.
- Mount the 5-gallon tank (20.5 in long, 20 lb) and the compressor near it, keeping the compressor’s intake filter remote-mounted somewhere dry using the 6 ft of 3/8” line supplied.
- Run the 8-gauge power wire from the battery through the fuse holder to the relay, then to the compressor; run the 18-gauge wires for the pressure switch and horn valve.
- Plumb the tank: gauge, safety blow-off, drain cock and the 1/2” horn feed. Leak-test at 150 PSI before the first honk.
One verified buyer noted that the solenoid and air-line connection sit in the center of the horn rather than behind the bracket, which complicated routing on their install. Plan the feed-line path before drilling. HornBlasters ships earplugs in the box for a reason: the brand states its non-electric horns exceed 130 dB, and hearing protection is essential during testing. Also check your state’s rules before use on public roads; our state legality pages summarize them. For sizing questions, see our air tank size guide and compressor duty cycle explainer.

Sources
- HornBlasters — Octohorn 544K Train Horn Kit product page — part number, price ($1,299.99 / $1,369.99 regular), 150/110 PSI, horn and tank dimensions and weights, HB-1NM 1.75 CFM / 25 A / 100% duty at 100 PSI, kit contents, 2-year warranty, finish-blemish notice, 5.0 rating from 2 reviews
- HornBlasters — Octohorn Train Horn (standalone) product page — AH-C8B, $649.99 / $699.99 regular, 12/24 V valve, evolution from the Katrina, 1-year warranty, 9.07 kg metric typo
- HornBlasters — HB-1NM Air Compressor product page — 200 PSI max, 50% duty at 200 PSI, 10.1 lb, 5-gallon fill times at 13.8 V
- HornBlasters — Katrina Train Horn product page — Katrina AH-C5B five-chime horn, $499.99, 19.5 x 19.75 x 13.5 in, 20 lb
- HornBlasters — Katrina Train Horn Kit page — Katrina 544K heavy-duty price $1,099.99 (regular $1,188.99)
- HornBlasters — Admiral 544 Train Horn Kit page — Admiral 544 price $999.99 in Stealth Black or Chrome
- HornBlasters — Octohorn Train Horn Kits collection — two-product Octohorn lineup, “Release the Kraken” tagline
- HornBlasters — Train Horn Decibels Explained: Why Fake Ratings Mislead Buyers — 130+ dB for all non-electric HornBlasters horns, K5LA 149.4 dB at 3 ft, testing-distance discussion
- HornBlasters — Train Horn Decibel Guide blog post — no Octohorn-specific dB figure published; DJD Labs third-party testing reference
- HornBlasters — Octohorn sound test (YouTube Short) — official brand demo of the Octohorn honking
- Stamped.io — verified buyer reviews for the Octohorn 544K kit — Garret B. (Aug 29, 2025) and Dustin B. (Jul 20, 2025), both 5/5, solenoid-placement comment
- Speedzone Performance — Octohorn 544K Train Horn Kit — dealer price cross-check $1,299.99 / $1,369.99, SKU HK-C8B-544K
- Platinum High Performance Solutions — Octohorn 544K Train Horn Kit — dealer price cross-check $1,299.99 / $1,369.99
- KT Performance — HornBlasters Octohorn Train Horn, Black, 8-Chime — standalone horn dealer price $649.99, 30 lb, no dB rating listed
- Amazon — HornBlasters Shocker XL Train Horns Only, US Made, 147.7 Actual dB — brand-published 147.7 dB rating for the Shocker XL used in the Conductor’s Special 544
Train Horn Hub aggregates publicly available data. We do not test products in-house. All trademarks belong to their respective owners.
The Octohorn 544K is the right pick for a full-size truck or show-vehicle owner who wants the biggest, most layered eight-bell chord HornBlasters makes on a proven 5-gallon, 100%-duty air system and does not mind paying $1,299.99 for a horn with no published dB rating and a cosmetically imperfect current batch. Buyers chasing a spec-sheet loudness number should look at the Conductor's Special 544 instead.
Frequently asked questions
Quick answers to the questions people ask most about this topic.
- How loud is the HornBlasters Octohorn 544K?
- HornBlasters does not publish a decibel rating or test distance for the Octohorn. The brand's decibel-testing article says all of its non-electric horns measure 130 dB or more under verified testing, but no Octohorn-specific figure is given. Treat any third-party 150 dB claim as unverified.
- What is the difference between the Octohorn 544K and the Katrina 544K?
- Both kits use the same HornAir 5-gallon, 8-port tank and HB-1NM compressor at 150 PSI. The Octohorn has eight bells, measures 17 x 17.5 x 16.75 inches and weighs 30 lb, while the Katrina has five bells and weighs 20 lb. The Octohorn kit costs $1,299.99 versus $1,099.99 for the Katrina 544K.
- Why does HornBlasters mention finish blemishes on the Octohorn?
- Both Octohorn product pages carry a notice that the current batch has blemishes in the black finish that fall short of the brand's quality standard. HornBlasters says the sound and performance are unaffected, but the kit is not discounted for the cosmetic issue beyond its normal $1,369.99-to-$1,299.99 sale price.
- How long does the Octohorn 544K take to fill its tank?
- Per HornBlasters' HB-1NM compressor page, a 5-gallon tank fills from 0 to 150 PSI in about 6 minutes 45 seconds and recovers from 110 to 150 PSI in about 2 minutes at 13.8 volts. The compressor is rated for 100% duty cycle at 100 PSI, so it can run continuously to do it.
- Can I buy the Octohorn without the air system?
- Yes. HornBlasters sells the horn alone as part number AH-C8B for $649.99 (regular $699.99) with the 12/24-volt valve pre-installed and a 1/2 inch NPT port. It needs an onboard-air system capable of 150 PSI; the standalone horn is listed with a 1-year warranty versus 2 years on the full kit.





